No-one should be injured or made ill at work.
Call us: +44 (0)20 3510 8355

International Safety Awards

Share this page

The International Safety Awards were open to any organisation, and related to the health and safety management at a specific site or business unit. Organisations answered 12 questions about their health and safety management and submit the answers online. 

The 2016 International Safety Award scheme has now closed. Download the 2016 International Safety Awards Winners' list.
Join us at the 2016 International Safety Awards Gala Dinner taking place Friday 6 May 2016, at the Grosvenor House Hotel, London.

Buy tickets now

Why apply for an International Safety Award?

The International Safety Awards are:

  • Independently marked by experienced health and safety practitioners
  • An invaluable award endorsing your health and safety management
Please note each application covers a single site or business unit. ​

  • Demonstrates your commitment to high standards of health and safety management
  • Press coverage for your winning site/business unit
  • Attendance at the winners' Gala Dinner
  • Use of winners' logo and certificate
  • Distinction winners' trophy (available to those attending the Gala Dinner in person and to purchase)
  • Winners’ plaque (available to purchase)

Sector Awards
International Safety Award winning organisations can be nominated for a 'Sector Award' for outstanding sites and business units within their sector, as judged by our independent adjudicators. This is free to any site/bussiness unit completing a International Safety Award application. The 2016 sector categories were as follows:

  1. Manufacturing
  2. Oil, gas, mining and quarrying
  3. Power and utilities
  4. Construction and property activities
  5. Wholesale and retail services
  6. Transportation, distribution and storage
  7. Hospitality and catering
  8. Education
  9. Health and social care
  10. Not for profit
  11. Financial, IT, legal, scientific, technical services and media
  12. Local government, defence and public services
  13. Onshore major hazard  

A shortlist of 2016 Sector Awards had been announced, the winners will be presented with their certificate on stage at the International Safety Awards Gala Dinner on Friday 6 May 2016 in London. 

Health and Safety Champion and Young Health and Safety Champion
This is the fourth year that the British Safety Council is pleased to invite applications for two individual health and safety awards. These awards were introduced to recognise individuals who, through their passion, commitment and dedication, have helped make a difference by keeping their colleagues and others healthy and safe.
Organisations submitting an application for an International Safety Award may also take the opportunity to submit one or two employees who have contributed to the overall health, safety and welfare on their site or in their business. This is free to enter to any site/business unit completing a 2016 International Safety Award application. The two awards are:

  • Health and Safety Champion of the Year
  • Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year

Please note: Organisations may only nominate ONE employee (applicant) for each of these two awards for each site/business unit application submitted, i.e. you may submit one for the Health and Safety Champion and one for the Young Health and Safety Champion per application. 

A shortlist of the final nominees has been announced. The chair of the judges panel will present the winners with their awards at the 2016 International Safety Awards Gala Dinner

How applications are marked
You can view our 2016 marking scheme, read the 2015's Chief Adjudicator’s report or call +44 (0)20 3510 8355 if you have any questions.

Results for the 2016 International Safety Awards will be issued to the main contact who completed the application on Monday 7 March by 17.00 GMT. If you do not receive your result please contact our customer service team
on +44 (0)20 3510 8355. 

Details of the marking and result enquiry process are available here. Please note that result enquiries must be received within 14 days of result issue: Monday 14 March 2016. Unfortunately our independent adjudicators are not available to consider enquiries after this date. Download the 2016 International Safety Awards Chief Adjudicator's Report for more information on this year's applications.

Distinction Trophy
All sites/business units that attain a distinction and attend the 2016 International Safety Awards Gala Dinner, will receive a distinction trophy automatically as part of the Gala Dinner package. It features the International Safety Awards logo and has been designed to reflect the impressive achievement. If you achieve a distinction but are unable to attend the Gala Dinner, you can still purchase a distinction trophy.

Winners' plaque
To celebrate your site/business unit's achievement in the International Safety Awards, commemorative wall plaques are available to purchase. This unique winners' wall plaque, features the International Safety Award logo and is designed to be used indoors or outdoors. 

Gala Dinner
The International Safety Awards Gala Dinner 2016 will be held at the famous Grosvenor House Hotel in London on Friday 6 May 2016 to celebrate the success of the winners. Attendees enjoyed a spectacular evening that includes awards presentations, a fine dining experience, fabulous entertainment and dancing. 

Find out more about the 2016 International Safety Awards Gala Dinner here. ​

Don't forget...
If you discuss the event online, please use #intsafetyawards to get others involved.​ 

Useful downloads
2016 International Safety Awards - Winners' list
2016 International Safety Awards - Chief Adjudicator's report
2016 International Safety Awards - guidance for applicants
2016 International Safety Awards - results enquiry policy and application
2016 International Safety Awards - FAQ's
2016 International Safety Awards - Gala Dinner booking form
2016 International Safety Awards - plaque order form
2016 International Safety Awards - distinction trophy order form
British Safety Council Events - terms and conditions ​

Should you have any queries, please contact our customer service team on +44 (0)20 3510 8355 or email

Media Partners​:

The International Safety Awards, bring a level of pride and excitement to the arena of safety. It goes a long way in making staff at all levels feel valued for their commitment in the workplace, ensuring safety for all is a priority.
Paul Nowell
Operations and Health and Safey Director, Total Foodservice Solutions
Please see our video from the 2015 International Safety Awards Gala Dinner