Skip to content

Winners were announced at the Gala dinner on 19 May 2023.

CEO Award

This recognises the leadership and strategic vision of CEOs who have made a vital contribution to the health and safety of their business and to the wider society during 2022. The award recognises how an individual CEO has taken an active role in aligning and championing their organisation’s health, safety and wellbeing interests with their internal and external stakeholders.

Shortlisted nominees

Chinedu Maduakoh - Topline Ltd

Folake Soetan - Ikeja Electric Plc

Wang Yong - China State Construction Engineering (Hong Kong) Ltd


Health, Safety and Wellbeing Ambassador of the Year Award

This recognises an employee who, in the opinion of the organisation or person nominating them, has played a significant role in ensuring the health, safety and wellbeing of colleagues and others.

Shortlisted nominees

Emma Short - Tees Valley Energy from Waste site

Eyab Mijwal - Saudi Mining Polytechnic

Jiehuang Jiang - China State Construction Engineering Corp Ltd

John Peter - L&T Heavy Civil Infrastructure

Lino Yohannan - WSP

Mark Garthwaite - Ebac Ltd

Md. Omar Sharif Ahmmed Chowdhury - Gonosasthaya Samaj vittik Medical College Hospital

Mohammad Suleyman - Technical and Vocational Training Corporation

Wong Ying Kit - China State Construction Engineering (Hong Kong) Ltd

Zhongkun Zhang - China State Construction Engineering Corporation


Health and Safety Transformation Award – sponsored by Croner–i

This recognises organisations that have significantly changed or transformed any aspect of health, safety or wellbeing to a significant extent through the use of information.

Shortlisted nominees

Chr. Hansen A/S

Hitachi Rail in partnership with BB&A

Low Carbon Limited


Ramsey Timber Group

Saudi Aramco


Seize the Opportunity Award

This award recognises organisations that have gone the extra mile to seize health, safety or wellbeing opportunities resulting from a crisis.

Shortlisted nominees

Capita plc

Dubai Municipality

Dubai Municipality - Health & Safety Department


Tusas Engine Industries


The James Tye Award

This recognises an organisation or a team of individuals who developed and ran a campaign in 2022 that made a significant impact on health, safety or wellbeing in the workplace. It is named after British Safety Council’s founder, James Tye, who campaigned tirelessly to improve health and safety at work.

Shortlisted nominees

Capita plc

Dubai Municipality

Saudi Aramco

Strabag-Ozkar-Andritz Hydro

ToughBuilt Industries UK Ltd



Team of the Year Award

This recognises outstanding achievements resulting in a significant improvement to health, safety or wellbeing, from a collaboration of stakeholders. This may include members of the organisation, suppliers, subcontractors and/or the wider community.

Shortlisted nominees

FCC Environment Health and Safety Team (FCC Environment)

Fire Safety Team (Wheatley Group)

New Acute Hospital at Kai Tak Development Area Site B Team (China State Construction Engineering Hong Kong Limited)

Project HSE Steering Committee - DMCC's Dubai Uptown Project (WSP Middle East)

QSE Team (Elis UK Ltd)


Wellbeing Initiative Award – powered by Being Well Together

This recognises and rewards organisations that have demonstrated a proactive and effective approach to improving employee wellbeing.

Shortlisted Nominees

Cementos Progreso S.A


FCC Environment

Mercury Engineering

Piramal Realty PVT Ltd

Sita UK