Skip to content

Some of the best health, safety and wellbeing champions in the world are shortlisted for the International Safety Awards 2019.

Hundreds of health, safety and wellbeing experts will be gathering in London on 5 April 2019. Their focus will be the International Safety Awards 2019 taking place at the prestigious Grosvenor House Hotel. Each will be eager to find out which of them will take away the ultimate category awards.

This year 507 organisations of all sizes and sectors won British Safety Council’s acclaim. They came from as far as Africa, Asia, India, mainland Europe and the Middle East. 57 applicants achieved a distinction, 250 achieved a merit and 200 achieved a pass. However, only the best of the best gets the opportunity for an overall category award.

Firstly, the awards recognise individual contributions to worker and workplace health and safety. Awards for Health and Safety Champion of the Year and Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year will be awarded for the seventh consecutive year. These awards recognise the performance of persons who do not have health and safety as their main responsibility but who have played a major role keeping their colleagues safe and healthy. For the Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award category organisations nominate employees aged 25 or over, whereas the Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award is given to a worker aged 16-24.

Health and Safety Champion Award 2019 shortlist:

  • Dave Renshaw, Workshop and Warehouse Supervisor, Allied Infrastructure Management, United Kingdom
  • Dominic Robinson, Leading Seaman, HMS Diamond, MoD, United Kingdom
  • Robyn Stanney, Postwoman, Royal Mail Group, United Kingdom
  • Ian Tolmie, Welding Superintendent, CRC–Evans Offshore Ltd, United Kingdom.

Young Health and Safety Champion Award 2019 shortlist:

  • Miriam Anwar Banjab, Electrical engineer, Dubai Municipality, UAE
  • James Baugh, Meteorologist/emergency management and public safety specialist, Storm Tech Solutions, United Kingdom
  • Himanshu Yadav, Engineer, Subros Ltd, India.

Shortlisted organisations within the Sector Awards category highlight outstanding sites and business units that operate in the following twelve sectors: Manufacturing; Oil, gas, mining and quarrying; Power and utility; Construction and property; Wholesale and retail services; Transportation, distribution and storage; Hospitality, sports and leisure; Education; Health and social care; Financial, IT, legal scientific and technical services, media; Local government, defence and public service; Onshore major hazard.

The full list of shortlisted organisations can be found here.

Last year, the British Safety Council introduced the Wellbeing Initiative Award which recognises organisations who have improved staff wellbeing. They need to demonstrate a new or unique objective, with a measurable outcome over and above their routine work. 2019 shortlist:

  • Schulman Inc Limited, United Kingdom
  • Bouygues E&S, United Kingdom
  • Dubai Police, United Arab Emirates
  • ISS Facility Services – Support Services, United Kingdom
  • Royal Mail Group, United Kingdom.

Also, for the second year running, organisations applied for the Innovation in Occupational Health and Safety Award category. The award recognises organisations who have shown a fresh approach to improving health and safety. There needs to be clear objectives and measurable outcomes over and above their routine work expectations. 2019 shortlist:

  • Hindustan Petroleum Corporation Ltd, India
  • Indian Oil Corporation Limited (M.D.) Gwalior Depot, India
  • Khidmah Sole Proprietorship LLC, United Arab Emirates
  • L&T Construction, India
  • Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd, India
  • Mole Valley Farmers Ltd, United Kingdom.

New for 2019 is the Team of the Year Award category. This recognises outstanding results from a major improvement to health, safety or wellbeing, through collaboration with stakeholders. Stakeholders may include members of their organisation, suppliers, contractors and/or the wider community. 2019 shortlist can be found here.

Also, for the first time, organisations could nominate staff and teams for the new Outstanding Bravery Award category. This award recognises staff or teams that have demonstrated an outstanding act of bravery. Without their intervention the situation could have led to significant harm to others, damage to property or even loss of life. 2019 shortlist can be seen here.