International Safety Awards 2020

Every year we invite you to enter our most prestigious awards, celebrating health and safety excellence across all industries in more than 50 countries worldwide. Our 2020 scheme is now closed.

The winners for the 2020 International Safety Awards have now been announced. We'd like to congratulate all of the winners for their continued commitment to excellent health, safety and wellbeing standards. 

View the International Safety Award winners list
View the 'Additional Awards' winners list 
View the 2020 Chief Adjudicator's Report 

Register your interest in the 2021 scheme - opening this September. 

What are the International Safety Awards?

The International Safety Awards are health and safety’s most prestigious award scheme. They recognise organisations that have demonstrated commitment to occupational health, safety and wellbeing, regardless of their size or the sector they operate within.

Why should I apply?

It takes time, effort and hard work to improve health and safety culture within an organisation. Not only do the International Safety Awards give you the recognition you deserve, they also help:

  • Motivate your team
  • Prove your success both within your organisation and to others in the industry
  • Benchmark yourself against other leaders in the field
  • Win new clients, partners and business opportunities
  • Showcase your commitment to excellent health and safety standards.

How can I apply?

The 2020 International Safety Awards scheme is now closed. View the winners list

Register your interest for 2021 International Safety Awards. 

Free to enter awards - three new for 2020

For the 2020 scheme we have introduced three new Free to Enter awards designed to reward those who have run campaigns, lead a strategic vision or transformed any aspect of health, safety and wellbeing through the use of information. 

Our Free to Enter Awards are now closed. Winners will be announced at the 2020 International Safety & Mates in Mind Awards Gala Dinner. 

Award categories - Now closed

International Safety Award

Recognises commitment to exemplary health, safety and wellbeing management. Awards are site specific. Successful applicants will be awarded Distinction, Merit or Pass grades based on their score. There is no quota of grades to be awarded. All applicants are invited to celebrate their success, and winners can collect their certificates and trophies at the 2021 awards ceremony and gala dinner.

Additional award categories - Now closed

Sector Awards

Recognise overall 'best in class' submissions to the International Safety Awards, by industry sector. This is a great way to stand out amongst peers and encourages best practice.

Sector Award categories are:

  • Manufacturing
  • Oil, gas, mining and quarrying
  • Power and utilities
  • Construction and property activities
  • Wholesale and retail services
  • Transportation, distribution and storage
  • Leisure, sports clubs, hospitality and catering
  • Education
  • Health and social care
  • Not for profit
  • Financial, IT, legal, scientific and technical services, media
  • Local government, defence and public services
  • Onshore major hazard.

Best in Country Award

All International Safety Award applicants are entered into this award, provided there is a significant number of applications from the same country. The highest scoring and best overall application will be awarded.

Shortlists will be released prior to the Gala Dinner and winners will be announced on the night.

International Safety Awards applicants can enter the following two awards. Questions have been provided within your application form. Only one application per category, per site/business unit will be accepted.

Wellbeing Initiative Award - sponsored by Vitality Healthy Workplace

Recognises those organisations who can demonstrate a proactive and effective approach to improving employee wellbeing, through a new or unique objective with a clear and measurable outcome, over and above the organisation's routine work. The winner will be announced at the Gala Dinner.

Team of the Year Award

Recognises the outstanding achievements resulting in a significant improvement to health, safety or wellbeing, from a collaboration of stakeholders, which may include members of their organisation, suppliers, subcontractors and/or the wider community.

Key dates

31 August 2019 Early bird deadline
7 February 2020 Application submission deadline
10 March 2020 Results emailed to applicants
11 March 2020 Winners list published
17 March 2020 Result enquiry deadline
TBC Gala Dinner booking deadline
21 May 2021 Gala Dinner


Sponsored by

Road workers in London

Given the growing concerns around COVID-19, the Executive Team and Trustees of British Safety Council have made the difficult decision to postpone the 2020 Gala Dinner from its planned date in May until 2021. Read more.

Additional support and videos


Want to learn more about the application process? Download our brand new application guidance webinar.