OPINION.png

Opinion

Naturally for a discipline that weighs risk, cost and reward, much of health and safety is contested.

Often, there are no clear facts. Instead, our opinions reflect judgements based on years of experience. We can be trusted to offer opinions on what should be done to safeguard worker’s safety, health and wellbeing and ensure businesses thrive.

Showing - 9 opinions

  • Louise-Ward-240x240.png
    03 February 2017

    The power of kindness

    The lighter and brighter days of spring are around the corner, why not use Time to Talk day to encourage your colleagues to talk over mental health for a greater sense of wellbeing?

  • Louise-Ward-240x240.png
    26 January 2017

    For a more dynamic communication

    Our new digital archive illustrates over 60 years ago British Safety Council promoted campaigns from the amusing to the controversial. Have we become too corporate about Health and Safety?

  • Mike-Robinson-240x240.png
    19 December 2016

    A birthday message

    British Safety Council celebrates its 60th anniversary and announces the opening of a new website.

  • Louise-Ward-240x240.png
    12 December 2016

    Ringing the changes

    British Safety Council looks back at an exciting year of change in 2016 and focuses on what this means for the future of Health and Safety.

  • Louise-Ward-240x240.png
    14 November 2016

    Breaking down barriers

    After a proud summer for British Athletes at the Paralympics we look at how open questioning and good listening skills can break down barriers and offer people opportunities to fulfil their potential.

  • Mike-Robinson-240x240.png
    14 November 2016

    The mark of a civilised society

    A new discovery of 60 years of British Safety Council memorabilia illustrates how much we have achieved in the battle for Health and Safety and what we can learn for the future.

  • Mike-Robinson-240x240.png
    19 October 2016

    The talking cure

    Depression, anxiety or stress, can be difficult barriers to overcome. The British Safety Council, together with the Health in Construction Leadership Group, is launching Mates in Mind to help build mentally healthy workplaces.

  • Mike-Robinson-240x240.png
    14 October 2016

    The perils of risk communication

    How do you make an important message memorable? We look at our latest video, The Last Word, under our Speak Up Stay Safe young people campaign and consider why it produced some very interesting reactions.

  • Louise-Ward-240x240.png
    28 September 2016

    Perceptions and realities

    Now that the UK has voted to leave the European Union, the legal framework may be subject to review. We look at the importance of the effective and proportionate management of risk and the safety of workers in the UK.