Industry sector winners of the International Safety Awards 2018 are shortlisted

The British Safety Council has announced the names of organisations shortlisted for the Sector Awards of the International Safety Awards 2018

The winners in each of nine Sector Award categories will be announced by Lawrence Waterman, Chair of Trustees, and Mike Robinson, Chief Executive of the British Safety Council, at the International Safety Awards Gala Dinner that will take place at the Grosvenor House in London on Friday, 27 April 2018.

This year, 549 organisations achieved a pass or a higher achievement in the British Safety Council’s prestigious International Safety Award scheme. These results were announced on 13 March 2018. Of these winning organisations, 33 have been shortlisted by the panel of adjudicators as deserving candidates for the Sector Awards.

Mike Robinson, Chief Executive of the British Safety Council, said: “On behalf of the Trustees and staff of the British Safety Council we warmly congratulate these 33 organisations which have been shortlisted for a Sector Award. This is the sixth year we have presented the Sector Awards as part of our long-standing International Safety Awards scheme, recognising those that have been judged by our independent adjudicators as outstanding businesses in their sectors. This accolade is particularly significant since within the very high standard represented by all winners of the awards, these organisations are examples of best practice in their industries. 

“We look forward to announcing the winners of the Sector Awards and celebrating their achievements with other winners of the International Safety Awards at the Gala Dinner on 27 April 2018.”

The International Safety Awards scheme, now in its 60th year, celebrates organisations from around the world that have demonstrated, to the satisfaction of the scheme’s independent judges, their commitment to preventing work-related injuries and ill health during the 2017 calendar year.

Last year, among the Sector Winners of the International Safety Awards 2017 were Arsenal Football Club and Unipart Rail, which were featured as case studies in Safety Management. Both companies face and successfully manage health and safety challenges particular to their sectors.

In 2018, the shortlisted organisations by sector are:

Construction and property Services

CLC Group Limited – Southampton


Delta Engineering Group Limited – Immingham

Ferrovial Agroman UK – Chiswick

Gratte Brothers Ltd – Worthing GSK Projects

Mace Group Limited – London

PM Group – GSK Worthing

Worksolv Facilities Management Limited – Solutions House



Pearson TQ – Minley


Leisure, sport clubs, hospitality and catering

Arsenal Football Club


Local government, defence and public services

Al Ain City Municipality

Abu Dhabi Occupational Safety & Health Center (OSHAD)



Aston Martin Lagonda Limited

BAE Systems Naval Ships

GlaxoSmithKline Services Unlimited PEM

Ham Baker Group

Subros Ltd., Manesar

Unipart Rail


Not for profit

The Football Association


Oil, gas, mining and quarrying

ENKA Inşaat ve Sanayi A.Ş. - Georgia – Area 80 & 81 Site

GAIL (India) Limited, Vaghodia

Kuwait National Petroleum Company – Head Office

Kuwait Oil Company - Export & Marine Fields

Kuwait National Petroleum Company – Local Marketing Department

Kuwait National Petroleum Company – Mina Al - Ahmadi Refinery

Kuwait National Petroleum Corporation – Mina Abdullah Refinery

Shapoorji Pallonji Bumi Armada Offshore Limited


Power and utilities

AES Maritza – Galabovo

Dounreay Site Restoration Ltd

Shuweihat O&M Limited Partnership

Tecton Engineering & Construction LLC – Asset Enhancement Scheme


Transportation, distribution and storage

Royal Mail Group – Leeds City Delivery Office

Unipart Logistics


Notes to editors

Photographic requests
Click on the attachment link at the top right of this news release to download an image of the 2017 Distinction winners of the International Safety Awards. For alternative photographs please email our communications contact below.

About the International Safety Awards scheme
The International Safety Awards are open to organisations of all types, sizes and sectors in the UK and internationally, both members of the British Safety Council and non-members, and relate to the health and safety management at a specific site or business unit.

Applicants must answer a series of online questions about their management of health and safety risks during the previous year which are assessed by a team of independent chartered health and safety professionals. If the application meets the required standard, a pass, merit or – for really exceptional submissions – a distinction is awarded.

Selected high scoring winning organisations are shortlisted for additional ‘Sector Awards’ recognising outstanding sites and business units in up to 13 individual business sectors, as judged by the independent adjudicators.

The International Safety Awards scheme also features two awards to recognise exceptional individual performance of non-health and safety professionals who played a significant role keeping their work colleagues safe and healthy. These are the Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award, for personnel aged 25 or over, and the Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year Award, for personnel aged 16-24.

These allow organisations applying for an International Safety Award to nominate individual employees who have gone the extra mile to help protect the health, safety and welfare of their colleagues and others.

The winners of the Sector Awards and the Health and Safety Champion and Young Health and Safety Champion of the Year, as well as two new awards, Employee Wellbeing Initiative and Health and Safety Innovation awards, will be announced at the International Safety Awards Gala Dinner on Friday 27 April 2018.

More information on the International Safety Awards can be found at:

About the British Safety Council
The British Safety Council is a world-leading expert in workplace health, safety and environmental management. It is a charity and membership organisation. The vision of the British Safety Council is that no-one should be injured or made ill at work.

Since 1957, the British Safety Council has been campaigning to keep workers healthy and safe. Led by its charismatic founder James Tye, the organisation contributed to the creation of the Health and Safety at Work Act in 1974. It also helped to establish the British Wellness Council in 1979, which ahead of its times, dealt with stress in the workplace, as well as other issues.


More recently, the British Safety Council has focused its activities on workplace health and well-being, including mental health. In January 2017, British Safety Council helped to launch the Mates in Mind programme, which provides information, support and training on mental health for the construction industry. In February 2018, the British Safety Council launched a range of mental health training courses which are designed to start conversations about mental health and support employees who are experiencing mental ill-health. 


The British Safety Council leads health and safety forums for all sectors of industry, facilitating and promoting best practice in Britain and overseas. It also works closely with leading charities in the fields of health, safety, wellbeing and mental health in the workplace.

We would be grateful if you could use British Safety Council in full rather than abbreviating to BSC when quoting our organisation.

British Safety Council’s networks:
LinkedIn group:  
Safety Management magazine:

Media enquiries
Anna Ryland
PR & Media Manager
British Safety Council
T +44 (0)20 8741 1231
D +44 (0)20 8600 1086
Email: [email protected]